Why I’m voting Yes

I believe that Scotland is a country and that countries should choose their own governments. I believe that Westminster is a miasma of corruption, vested interests and buried scandal, protected by a rotten, antiquated electoral system that makes some votes worth much more than others. I believe that a democracy shouldn’t have an unelected second tier with the power to influence lawmaking.

I believe in empathy, not as some abstract, theoretical notion but as something that should guide our everyday actions and government policies. I believe that we should be welcoming in refugees from places like Syria and Palestine. I believe in helping the poorest people in society and not levying unfair policies like the bedroom tax on them, especially not when there is such a shortage of adequate social housing. I believe that families having to depend on food banks – and the generosity of others – to feed themselves while MPs give themselves a 9% pay rise is disgraceful. I believe genuinely disabled people are losing their benefits and being forced back into work, whether or not they are physically able.

I believe that a ‘no’ vote is not a vote for the status quo, because I believe David Cameron (and various Tory MPs, and 60% of the UK public while we’re at it) when they say they want to scrap the Barnett formula and replace it with a “needs-based” system. I believe that the NHS is in danger of being eviscerated and privatised, just like what’s being done down south, as a result of cutting Scotland’s block grant.

I believe the UK’s aggressive foreign policy plays a part in alienating and radicalising angry young men and subsequently makes us a target. I believe no civilised country should spend billions on outdated nuclear weapons in an age of austerity. I believe that people have a right to privacy and communicating without their government listening in. I believe that every person deserves a fair, public trial.

I believe that there is the distinct possibility that the UK will vote to leave the European Union in 2017 and I believe that the lack of a written UK constitution will make it far easier for those in power to violate our basic human rights.

I believe independence will not be without its challenges.  I believe mistakes will be made, but I also believe that any short-term turbulence will be mitigated by the knowledge that we can work together to achieve something better and more noble than financial gain.

I believe that we can use the profits from oil to exploit our massive renewable energy potential so that when the North Sea finally runs dry, we can rely on our electricity surplus instead – in addition to our healthy food and drink, service and manufacturing industries. I believe that a smaller government is naturally more transparent and accountable.

I believe that voting yes doesn’t automatically make us a fairer society; rather it gives us the foundations on which we can begin to build one – assuming, of course, that we elect the right governments.  I believe a Yes vote is not a vote for Alex Salmond or the SNP but one for hope and the belief that we can channel this unprecedented level of political engagement into building, brick by brick and law by law, a better and far more equal society.

Leave a comment